Nationals from the following 57 countries can now stay in Thailand for up to 30 days without an entry visa: 

Argentina, Australia, Austria, Bahrain, Belgium, Brazil, Brunei, Canada, Chile, Cyprus, Denmark, Djibouti, Egypt, Fiji, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Indonesia, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Kenya, Kuwait, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Mauritania, Mexico, Morocco, Myanmar, Netherlands, NewZealand, Norway, Oman, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Portugal, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Singapore, Slovenia, South Africa, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Tunisia, Turkey, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States of America, Vanuatu, Western Samoa, Yemen.

15-Day Visa-on-Arrival.  For visitors from the following 97 countries: 

Albania, Andorra, Antigua and Barbuda, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bahamas, Barbados, Belarus, Belize, Bhutan, Bolivia, Botswana, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Colombia, Comoros, Costa Rica, Cote d'Ivoire, Croatia, Czech Republic, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Equatorial Guinea, Estonia, Ethiopia, Gabon, Gambia, Georgia, Grenada, Guatemala, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Haiti, Honduras, Hungary, India, Jamaica, Kazakhstan, Kiribati, Kyrgyz Republic, Latvia, Lesotho, Liberia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Malawi, Maldives, Mali, Malta, Mauritius, Moldova, Monaco, Nauru, Niger, Panama, Paraguay, People's Republic of China, Peru, Poland, Republic of Trinidad and Tobago, Romania, Russian Federation, Rwanda, Saint Lucia, San Marino, Sao Tome and Principe, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Slovak Republic, Solomon Islands, Somalia, St. Christopher and Nevis, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Suriname, Swaziland, Taiwan, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Togo, Tonga, Turkmenistan, Tuvalu, Uganda, Ukraine, Uruguay, Uzbekistan, Vatican City State, Venezuela, Zaire, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

Visas valid for 15 days may be obtained on arrival at any of the following Immigration Checkpoints:
  • Don Muang International Airport, Bangkok.
  • Chiangmai International Airport, Chiangmai
  • Phuket International Airport, Phuket
  • Hatyai International Airport, Songkla
  • U Tapao Airport, Rayong
  • Mae Sai Immigration Checkpoint, Chiengrai
  • Chieng Saen Immigration Checkpoint, Chiengrai
  • Chieng Khong Immigration Checkpoint, Chiengrai
  • Betong Immigration Checkpoint, Yala
  • Sadao Immigration Checkpoint, Songkhla.

Categories of Visas in Thailand are: 

Transit, Visitor Transit,Tourist, Non-Immigrant, Immigrant and Non-Quota Immigrant Holders of Transit, Visitor Transit and Tourist visas are not allowed to work in Thailand.

A tourist who wants to overstay his visa must apply to the Immigration Division of the Police Department with the following :

  • The duplicate copy of his or her passport
  • One photo
  • In the case of being sick,  medical certificate must be available

Source of information: Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Department of Consular Affairs, Visa and Travel Documents Division; as of 31 Jan 1999

Customs Regulation
  • Exports of Buddha images (except small ones carried on person), antiques and genuine works of art require export licenses from the Fine Arts Department. The shop you deal with can provide such service for you.
  • Foreign tourists are allowed to take out gold ornaments free. But import and export of gold other than jewelry are subject to licensing by the Ministry of Finance.
It is prohibited by law to bring any of the following items into Thailand:
  • Narcotics (e.g., marijuana, hemp, opium, cocaine, morphine, heroin)
  • Obscene literature or pictures
  • Firearms or ammunition – unless a permit has been obtained from the Police Department or the local Registration Office.
  • Piranha and certain species of fruits, vegetables and plants. (Contact the Agricultural Regulatory Division, Bangkhen, Bangkok for details

  • One still camera with 5 rolls of unused film, one movie camera with 3 rolls of unused film and used household effects may be brought in free of duty.

Copyright, 2007 © Runckel & Associates
Terms of use